Dear Members of the New Jersey Legislature,

We proudly stand in solidarity with Katie Brennan, Sylvia Jauregui and our sister survivors and thank them for their tremendous courage under circumstances no one should ever face. By sharing their story, Katie, Sylvia and the unnamed woman who decided to come forward have shown incredible determination and commitment to the pursuit of justice for themselves and other sexual assault survivors.

In the past year -- thanks to the brave individuals who have spoken out as part of the #MeToo movement -- it has become clear how far we are as a nation from providing justice for survivors of sexual assault and harassment. We can do better and we must do better.

Earlier this month the Murphy administration acknowledged that our current approach to these allegations is unacceptable. We know that for survivors to feel heard, there must be changes in the way cases are handled, from reporting to accountability. All those responsible must own their responsibility, if we are to raise survivors and their voices and move towards greater justice in New Jersey.

We believe that an independent investigation and review are meaningful first steps. These should be focused on supporting survivors and not made spectacles for public consumption. We support the decision to have the offices of the Attorney General and Equal Employment Opportunity do complete evaluations of laws, policies and regulations surrounding these cases. We stand united in a demand that this investigation be thorough and free of political influence, and stand prepared to hold the administration accountable otherwise.

Ultimately, we must make sure that these investigations lead to real change. When the findings are released, we are committed to working together to ensure Governor Murphy, the Administration and the Legislature establish necessary progressive policy changes that lead towards more aggressive prosecution of perpetrators, provide additional trauma training for police officers, prosecutors and judges as well as eliminate arbitrary time limitations that deny victims justice.

By working together, we can accomplish our goals and make it known that these circumstances will never again be tolerated in the state of New Jersey. Sexual assault survivors must be able to seek and receive justice.

We hope the investigation and future policy recommendations will proceed in a collaborative way that does not politicize the process. We must focus our efforts to further the goal of creating better systems and structures in New Jersey for survivors of sexual assault. We owe this to Katie, Sylvia and all the women like them who have been impacted by sexual assault or harassment, not only while engaged in all three branches of a traditionally male dominated government, but also those harmed in private

employment, in education, in recreation, and in all walks of life. We need to develop a system of reporting and action that works for them in the pursuit of justice in the future.

Despite great strides made by the Murphy administration and the legislature on behalf of women, much must clearly change. Our collective call is that political machinations not hinder the opportunity to effect real change for all the people of New Jersey.

Sincerely,

Aida L. Figueroa-Epifanio, Institute Co-Chair and Executive Board Member, New Leaders Council-NJ

Alisa Smith, Community Baptist Church, Englewood

Alison Arne, Action Together NJ, Atlantic County

Amy Quinn, Deputy Mayor, City of Asbury Park

Analilia Mejia, Executive Director, New Jersey Working Families Alliance

Andrea Long, Donor Relations Manager, ACLU of New Jersey

Anne Gunderson

Ashley Bennett, Freeholder, Atlantic County

Barbara Rosen, First Vice President, Health Professionals and Allied Employees

Bridget Devane, Public Policy Director, Health Professionals and Allied Employees

Carol E. Gay, President, NJ Industrial Union Council

Carol Rizzo, Deputy Mayor, Neptune Township

Darlene M. Smith, President, New Jersey Coalition of Labor Union Women

Debbie White, President, Health Professionals and Allied Employees

Deborah Morgan, Secretary, New Brunswick Area NAACP

Debra Caplan, Board Member, NJ 11th for Change

Diane L. Du Brule, Development Director, ACLU of New Jersey

Dianne Smith, Community Baptist Church, Englewood

Rev. Donna West, Mount Olive Baptist Church, Hackensack

Donna Pepe

Edie Grauer

Eileen Chapman, Councilwoman, City of Asbury Park

Eileen Michaels

Elizabeth Brewer Redwine, Founder and Steering Committee, Essex Rising

Elizabeth Juviler, Political Director, NJ 11th for Change

Elizabeth Meyer, President and Founder, Women's March on New Jersey

Rev. Ella Hayes, Mount Olive Baptist Church, Hackensack

Erin Chung, Women for Progress

Erin Sweeney

Estina Baker, Senior Campaign Lead, National Communications Workers of America

Felisha Reyes Morton, Member, Camden City Democratic Committee

Franceline Ehret, Middlesex County Member, New Jersey Democratic State Committee

Geri Jannarone, Director of Advocacy and Special Campaigns, Parano and Associates

Haven Franklin

Hetty Rosenstein, New Jersey State Director, Communications Workers of America

Jane Cohen, Director of Environmental and Health Policy, Isles

Janice Fine, Associate Professor and Director of Research and Strategy, Center for Innovation in Worker

Organization, Rutgers University

Jayne Mackta, Councilwoman, Bradley Beach Boro

Jean Pierce, Public Policy, Health Professionals and Allied Employees

Jessica R. Shaw, Secretary, SOMA Action

Karen Bellamy Lewis, Vice President, National Coalition of Labor Union Women

Karen Hartshorn Hilton, Village Trustee, Township of South Orange

Karen White, Executive Board Member, Union of Rutgers Administrators, AFT Local 1766

Kathleen Hopfel, URA-AFT

Lauren Albrecht, Chair, Monmouth County Democrats LGBTQ Caucus

Marcia Marley, Executive Director, Blue Wave New Jersey

Margaret Illis, Co-Founder, NJ7 Forward

Marie Blistan, President, New Jersey Education Association

Marie Battist-Celestin

Marie Corfield, Legislative Chair, Flemington-Raritan Education Association

Michele Liebtag, Political and Education Director, CWA Local 1036

Meg Thomann, Democratic Municipal Chair, Freehold Township

Myra Terry

Nicole Gillespie, Knowles Teacher Initiative

Pat Sodolak, We the People NJ-07

Paula Madison, President, Bergen-Passaic Chapter of the Coalition of 100 Black Women

Rosemary Wright

Rosi Efthim, Blue Jersey

Saily M. Avelenda, Esq. Executive Director, NJ 11th for Change

Sandra Kot, Secretary-Treasurer, IFPTE Local 194

Syd Whalley, Councilwoman, Spring Lake Borough

Minister Tonya Bryan, Mount Olive Baptist Church, Hackensack

Truscha Quotrone

Uyen "Winn" Khuong, Executive Director, Action Together New Jersey

Vanessa La Garde

Wendy Robinson, Chair, Voters of Watchung Hills