Anderson’s Progressive ‘Millennials for NJ’ Launches in Red Bank

More than 150 millennial professionals and politicos attended the kickoff to support Millennials for NJ, a political organization to recruit and elect progressive millennial candidates in NJ.

“The response has been incredible, we had people here all the way from Camden County to Bergen County,” said Matthew Anderson, chairman of Millennials for NJ, and former Chief of Staff to Assembly Members Eric Houghtaling and Joann Downey. “This is an important cause, and I am proud to see millennials stepping up to the plate.”

Anderson said the event raised over $20,000, to be donated to progressive millennial candidates running for election this November.

“Our first $10,000 in donations will be donations of $1,000 to ten millennial progressive candidates who are on the ballot for this November’s election,” said Matthew Anderson. “If you are a progressive millennial candidate running in NJ, please apply by September 15th. We will be announcing the winners on October 1st.”

Candidates can apply here.

The Board of Directors are: Rebecca Schwartz, Senior Aide to Governor Murphy; Matt Clarkin, Chief of Staff to Parsippany Mayor Michael Soriano; Kaylee McGuire, Policy Analyst at the NJ Assembly Majority Office; and Juan Carlos Nordelo, Legislative Director to Assemblywoman Yvonne Lopez.

The room attracted statewide millennial power players including:

Senator Vin Gopal

Atlantic County Chairman Mike Suleiman

NJ Young Dems Chairwoman Fatima Heyward

Edison Democratic Chairman Shariq Admad

Woodbridge BOE Member Dan Harris

Senator Vin Gopal Chief of Staff Joe Libutti

Assembly Majority Office Deputy Executive Director Mickey Quinn

Garden State Equality Executive Director Christian Fuscarino

Hasbrouck Heights Councilman Chris Hillman

Christina Zuk of Princeton Public Affairs

Sabeen Masih of Capital Impact Group

Manasquan Councilman Mike Mangan

Springfield Township Committeeman and Assemblyman McKeon Chief of Staff Alex Keiser

Assembly Members Houghtaling and Downey Chief of Staff Tom Little

Red Bank Councilman Hazim Yassin

Somerville Councilman Fred Wied

Monmouth County Democrats Executive Director Kinn Badger

Somerset Democrats Executive Director James Corti

Morris County Democrats Executive Director Ore Obiwumi

Aberdeen Councilman Greg Cannon

Monmouth County Young Democrats Chairwoman Devin Carrick

Middlesex County Young Dems Chairman Robert Zuckerman

Assemblywoman Annette Quijano Chief of Staff Seth Levin

Keyport Councilwoman Vicky Pacheco

Red Bank Councilwoman Kate Triggiano

Keansburg Democratic Municipal Chairman Matt Kitchen

(Visited 1,506 times, 1 visits today)

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape