Coughlin Announces Assembly Committee Chair Appointments for 221st Legislative Session

Coughlin of Middlesex.

Following the installation of Democratic Assembly members to the 221st New Jersey Legislative Session, Assembly Speaker Craig J. Coughlin today announced the caucus leadership and Assembly committee chairs.

“The breadth of knowledge that our caucus leaders bring to their positions will propel us forward as we tackle issues that matter most to families sitting around kitchen tables throughout the state,” said Speaker Coughlin (D-Middlesex). “Our diverse and dynamic caucus is reflective of our state and I’m proud that our senior leadership reflects that diversity as well.”

Speaker Coughlin announced the following members will hold senior leadership roles within the Assembly Democratic Caucus:

  • Majority Leader: Asm. Louis D. Greenwald (D-Camden, Burlington)
  • Speaker Pro Tempore: Asm. Benjie E. Wimberly (D-Bergen, Passaic)
  • Majority Conference Leader: Asw. Annette Quijano (D-Union)
  • Majority Whip: Asw. Carol Murphy (D-Burlington)
  • Assembly Appropriations Chair: Asw. Lisa Swain (D-Bergen, Passaic)
  • Policy Chair: Gary S. Schaer (D-Bergen, Passaic)
  • Assembly Budget Chair: Asw. Eliana Pintor Marin (D-Essex)
  • Constituent Outreach Chair: Asw. Verlina Reynolds-Jackson (D-Mercer, Hudson)
  • Deputy Speakers: Asw. Linda S. Carter (Middlesex, Somerset, Union), Asm. Herb Conaway (D-Burlington), Asm. Wayne DeAngelo (D-Mercer, Middlesex), Shanique Speight (D-Essex), Asw. Pamela R. Lampitt (D-Camden, Burlington), Asw. Yvonne Lopez (D-Middlesex)
  • Deputy Majority Leaders: Asm. Roy Freiman (D-Somerset, Mercer, Middlesex, Hunterdon), Asm. Bill Moen, Jr. (D-Camden, Gloucester), Asm. Chris Tully (Bergen, Passaic), Asw. Shama Haider (D-Bergen)
  • Parliamentarian: Asw. Ellen Park (Bergen)
  • Deputy Parliamentarian: Asm. Sterley Stanley (D-Middlesex)
  • Deputy Whips: Asm. Clinton Calabrese (D-Bergen, Passaic), Joseph Danielsen (D-Middlesex, Somerset)

Committees chairs include some members returning to their positions and other members leading new committees for the first time.

  • Aging and Human Services – Asw. Speight
  • Appropriations – Asw. Swain
  • Budget – Asw. Pintor Marin
  • Children, Families and Food Security – Asw. Haider
  • Commerce, Economic Development and Agriculture – Asm. William Spearman (D-Camden, Gloucester)
  • Consumer Affairs – Asm. William Sampson (D-Hudson)
  • Education – Asw. Lampitt
  • Environment, Natural Resources, and Solid Waste – Asm. James Kennedy (D-Middlesex, Somerset, Union)
  • Financial Institutions – Asm. Freiman
  • Health – Asm. Conaway
  • Higher Education – Asw. Carter
  • Housing – Asw. Lopez
  • Judiciary – Asw. Park
  • Labor – Asm. Anthony Verrelli (D-Mercer, Hunterdon)
  • Oversight, Reform and Federal Relations – Asm. Reginald Atkins (D-Union)
  • Public Safety and Preparedness – Asm. Danielsen
  • Military and Veterans Affairs – Asw. Cleopatra Tucker (D-Essex)
  • Regulated Professions – Asm. Stanley
  • State and Local Government – Asm. Robert J. Karabinchak (D-Middlesex)
  • Telecommunications and Utilities – Asm. DeAngelo
  • Tourism, Gaming and the Arts – Asm. Moen
  • Transportation and Independent Authorities – Asm. Calabrese
  • Community Development and Women’s Affairs – Asw. Shavonda E. Sumter (D-Bergen, Passaic)
(Visited 1,081 times, 1 visits today)

2 responses to “Coughlin Announces Assembly Committee Chair Appointments for 221st Legislative Session”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape