NJ Division of Elections (FULL) Primary Election Results (PDFs): Mehta Officially Defeats Singh in GOP Senate Primary

rik mehta

The NJ Division of Elections released the official results of the July 7th primary election.

Voter turnout for the all-VBM election was 26%; Bergen County had the highest turnout rate at 37% while Passaic County had the lowest turnout rate at 19%.

All in, over 1.4 million ballots were cast out of an eligible 5.5 million.  Slighly over 1 million Democrats voted, while 457,000 Republicans voted.  The Division cites 40,845 ballots as being rejected.

President Trump (unopposed) garnered over 404,000 Republican votes, while Democrat Joe Biden garnered over 813,000 votes to Bernie Sanders (who dropped out months ago) garnered over 140,000 votes.

Among the closely watched races:

GOP Senate primary: Rik Mehta defeated closest rival Hirsh Singh, garnering over 154,000 votes to Singh’s 146,000.

Democratic Senate primary: Incumbent Senator Booker garnered over 838,000 votes to challenger Larry Hamm’s nearly 119,000 votes.

CD2 Democratic primary: Amy Kennedy defeated Brigid Harrison, 43,000 votes to 15,500; other Democratic candidates garnered around 12,000 votes total (of those candidates, Will Cunningham garnered nearly 9,000 votes).

CD2 GOP primary: Incumbent Republican Jeff Van Drew (running in his first GOP primary) garnered over 45,000 votes to challenger Bob Patterson’s 9,600 votes.

CD3 GOP primary: David Richter garnered nearly 36,000 votes to Kate Gibbs’ nearly 23,000 votes.

CD4 Democratic primary: Stephanie Schmid garnered over 38,000 votes to closest rival Christine Conforti’s 14,000 votes.

CD5 Democratic primary: Incumbent Rep. Josh Gottheimer defeated challenger Arati Kreibich, 54,000-26,000.

CD5 GOP primary: Frank Pallotta garnered nearly 26,000 votes to John McCann’s 16,000 votes; James Baldini and Hector Castillo garnered nearly 8,000 votes total.

CD8 Democratic primary: Incumbent Rep. Albio Sires defeated challenger Hector Oseguera, with Sires’ garnering nearly 48,000 votes to Oseguera’s 18,500 votes.


(Visited 55 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape