Operating Engineers Local 825 Endorses (Select!) Candidates in New Jersey


SPRINGFIELD, NJ (September 24, 2019): Today, the International Union of Operating Engineers Local 825 endorsed dozens of candidates in state, county and local races, recognizing their strong commitment to infrastructure, labor issues and a diverse mix of energy in New Jersey.

“We’re excited to support candidates who back organized labor and recognize the importance of infrastructure investment in a challenging and all-or-nothing political environment,” said Greg Lalevee, Business Manager of IUOE 825. “We took a hard look at the records, public statements and candidates positions on the issues critical to operating engineers: infrastructure investment and support for the Transportation Trust Fund re-authorization, expansion of clean natural gas infrastructure and the role it plays as we diversify our energy mix, and protecting our ability to organize and put members to work. Our endorsements for 2019 are a reflection of where candidate’s positions are in relation to our important issues.”

IUOE 825 remains committed to infrastructure investment and labor advocacy, promoting projects that will create union jobs and improve New Jersey’s economy while building the roads, energy and water infrastructure, and transit systems that form the backbone of our region.

The full list of candidates can be found below:

Leg District Member Party
2 John Armato D
4 Paul Moriarty D
4 Gabriela Mosquera D
5 William Moen D
5 William Spearman D
6 Louis Greenwald D
7 Carol Murphy D
14 Wayne DeAngelo D
14 Daniel Benson D
15 Anthony Verrelli D
17 Joseph Egan D
18 Robert Karabinchak D
19 Craig Coughlin D
19 Yvonne Lopez D
21 Jon Bramnick R
24 Harold Wirths R
26 BettyLou DeCroce R
30 Sean Kean R
30 Edward Thompson R
31 Nicholas Chiaravalloti D
31 Angela McKnight D
32 Angelica Jimenez D
32 Pedro Mejia D
33 Annette Chaparro D
34 Britnee Timberlake D
34 Thomas Giblin D
35 Benjie Wimberley D
36 Gary Schaer D
38 Lisa Swain D
38 Chris Tully D
40 Christopher DePhillips R


Jurisdiction Name Office
Cumberland County Celeste Riley Clerk
Hudson County Tom DeGise Executive
Bergen County Germaine Ortiz Freeholder
Bergen County Mary Amoroso Freeholder
Bergen County Tom Sullivan Freeholder
Burlington County Latham Tiver Freeholder
Burlington County Lee Schneider Freeholder
Camden County Carmen Rodriguez Freeholder
Camden County Ed McDonnell Freeholder
Camden County Melinda Kane Freeholder
Essex County Romaine Graham Freeholder
Middlesex County Clary Azcona-Barber Freeholder
Middlesex County Charles Kenny Freeholder
Middlesex County Kenneth Armwood Freeholder
Monmouth County Dominick DiRocco Freeholder
Monmouth County Thomas A. Arnone Freeholder
Somerset County Patricia Walsh Freeholder
Sussex County Anthony Fasano Freeholder
Cumberland County Christopher Jennings Freeholder
Cumberland County Darlene Barber Freeholder
Gloucester County Frank DiMarco Freeholder
Gloucester County Dan Christy Freeholder
Hudson County Frank Schillari Sheriff
Sussex County Mike Strada Sheriff
Somerset County William Parenti Sheriff
Buena Matt Walker Council
Carteret Vinnie Bellino Council
Carteret Jorge Diaz Council
Dumont Dominick Panefile Council
Demarest Jim Carroll Council
Fairfield Michael McGlynn Council
Park Ridge Keith Misciagna Mayor
Irvington Jamillah Beasley-McLoed Council
Deptford Ed Kalinowski School Board
Deptford Twp Paul Medany Council
Deptford Twp MacKenzie Belling Council
Deptford Twp Tom Hufnell Council
Franklinville Twp Scott Quick Council
Franklinville Twp Lena Jester Council
Hoboken Migdalia Pagan-Milano Ward 1 – Council
Hoboken Nora Martínez DeBenedetto Ward 2 – Council
Hoboken Michael Russo Ward 3 – Council
Hoboken Reuben Ramos Ward 4 – Council
Hoboken Phil Cohen Ward 5 – Council
Hoboken Cristin Cricco Powell Ward 6 – Council
Lawrence Twp. Mike Powers Council
Lawrence Twp. John Ryan Council
Lawrence Twp. Cathleen Lewis Council
Woodbridge John McCormac Mayor
Woodbridge Lizbeth DeJesus Council
Woodbridge Brian Small Council
Woodbridge Kyle Anderson Council
Woodbridge Greg Ficarra Council
Wood-Ridge Paul Sarlo Mayor
Wood-Ridge Catherine Cassidy Council
Wood-Ridge Joseph DiMarco Council
Ocean Twp. Amy McGovern School Board
Parsippany Robert Kaminski Council
South Toms River Tom Rolzhausen Council
Totowa John Capo Council
Pitts Grove Tom Hickson Jr. Committee
Frankford Twp Nick Civitan Committee
Union Twp Clifton People Council
Union Twp Suzette Cavadas Council
Westfield Robert Garrison School Board


(Visited 87 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape