Brendan Gill Re-Elected Chairman of Montclair Democratic Committee

Brendan Gill Re-Elected Chairman of Montclair Democratic Committee

Tanya Poteat Re-Elected Vice Chair


MONTCLAIR, NJ (June 19, 2024)–The Montclair Democratic County Committee has re-elected its chairperson, Brendan Gill, and vice chairperson, Tanya Poteat, to lead the MDCC for the 2024-2026 term.


Gill and Poteat were re-elected unanimously at the MDCC reorganization meeting June 17 at the Wally Choice Community Center in Montclair. Both have led the MDCC for more than a decade, during which time the MDCC has evolved into an important partner for Democratic candidates and campaigns. Under their leadership, the MDCC has achieved unprecedented success in county, state and national races.


Gill is a lifelong resident of Montclair and a graduate of Montclair public schools who has been actively involved in Montclair’s civic life for more than two decades. He serves in elected office as an Essex County Commissioner, has served on the Montclair Planning Board, is a member of Montclair’s Vision Zero Task Force, serves on the board of the Montclair High School All-Class Reunion, and is an active member of St. Teresa of Calcutta Parish.


Tanya Poteat is the Executive Director of the Montclair Child Development Center, which provides comprehensive, inclusive Early Head Start and Head Start preschool services annually to nearly 500 children and their families.


Rounding out the slate of officers for 24-26, the MDCC re-elected Recording Secretary Elsie Barrick and Corresponding Secretary Cary Chevat to their respective offices. Jordan Hirschhorn was elected to the office of treasurer, replacing Christine Russo, who is retiring from the position after 10 years of exemplary service.

The county committee also caucused by ward to elect two Ward Co-Chairpersons for each of the Township’s four wards. Members of the county committee elected John Hearn and Marcia Almeida as First Ward Co-Chairpersons; Christine Russo and Jerry Vorbach as Second Ward Co-Chairpersons; Declan Carney and Moses Oliva as Third Ward Co-Chairpersons; and Gay Overbey-Cole and Antonio Gary as Fourth Ward Co-Chairpersons.

The MDCC also approved five at-large committee members nominated by Chairperson Gill: Lorena Tyson, Ellie Bagli, Elvin Esteves, Jill Hirsch, and Assemblywoman Alixon Collazos-Gill

“The Montclair Democrats are the most committed and hardworking activists working in politics, whose reach and impact is felt in races across the country,” Brendan Gill said. “I am so proud to lead this organization and am always so grateful and humbled to have their support. We are ready to get out the vote in November and deliver a win for President Biden and Democrats up and down the ballot. I also want to congratulate all of our committee members and officers who were elected or re-elected this cycle,” Gill said.


About the Montclair Democrats


The Montclair Democratic County Committee is the municipal-level organization of the New Jersey Democratic State Committee, which is the state-level organization of the Democratic National Committee. The MDCC is composed of 82 elected district leaders who represent Montclair’s 41 election districts in two-person teams. The “Montclair Dems” is a volunteer activist organization associated with the MDCC but open to anyone interested in volunteering for Democratic candidates and progressive causes. For more information on becoming involved with the Montclair Dems, visit:

(Visited 109 times, 1 visits today)

Comments are closed.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape