Gottheimer Hosts Second Hometown Heroes Awards Ceremony at HackensackUMC Fitness & Wellness

Gottheimer Hosts Second Hometown Heroes Awards Ceremony at HackensackUMC Fitness & Wellness

Honors Heroes from Across the Fifth District

MAYWOOD, N.J. – Yesterday, July 2, 2018, ahead of Independence Day on Wednesday, Congressman Josh Gottheimer (NJ-5) hosted his second Hometown Heroes Awards Ceremony in Maywood. At HackensackUMC Fitness & Wellness, Gottheimer presented awards to 24 of New Jersey’s Fifth District’s standout neighbors, friends, coworkers, and individuals who have volunteered, served, or worked to help others in North Jersey.

Each of these awardees were nominated by Fifth District mayors, community leaders, police chiefs, neighbors, coworkers, friends, families, and others in their community.

“Today’s awardees are bound by a shared sense of duty – to their families, their communities, and their country. They put the needs of others ahead of their own. None of these people stood up because they sought recognition, they did it because they wanted to do what was right,” said Congressman Josh Gottheimer (NJ-5). “As families across North Jersey prepare for Independence Day celebrations this week, it’s important to take a moment to recognize the spirit, bravery, and compassion that make America the greatest country in the world. The 2018 Fifth District Hometown Heroes reflect all of that and more. Thank you to the Fifth District mayors, police chiefs, faith leaders, neighbors, coworkers, families, and friends who submitted nominations for this year’s awards. I couldn’t be more proud to honor these Hometown Heroes today.”

The 2018 Fifth District Hometown Heroes:

  • Walter Caraballo of Blairstown
  • Martin Diamond of Paramus
  • Reverend Donna West of Hackensack
  • Ralph Warner of Midland Park
  • Pat Lynch of Newton
  • Officer Lou Failla of Fair Lawn
  • Lynne Kramer of Allamuchy
  • Detective Randy Velez of Emerson
  • Chief Clint Miller of Montvale
  • Coach Glen Popolo of Ramsey
  • EMT Amanda Hernandez of Bergenfield
  • Members of Girl Scout Troop 19 of Teaneck
  • Dianna Morrison of Newton
  • OEM Director Roy Bauberger of Oakland
  • Gayle Samitt of Woodcliff Lake
  • Assistant Fire Chief David Berkenbush of Allamuchy
  • Jane Damstra of Vernon
  • Captain Ryan Shell of Bergenfield
  • EMT Maura McLaughlin of Bergenfield
  • Former Mayor Vince Barra of Allendale
  • Gabby Cox of Franklin
  • Jack Wallace of Franklin Lakes
  • Lou Caruso of Green Township
  • Deacon Robert Robinson and Rosemarie Sorce of Hackensack
  • Sergeant Michael Graham of Northvale
  • Andy Reithmayr of Haworth
  • Captain Peggy Hissum of Oxford
  • Mike Epstein of Paramus
  • Officers James Warnet and Greg Slater of Bergenfield
  • Patrolman Brian Depree, Firefighter Tim Riegel, and Chief Matt Ranone of Ringwood
  • Maxine Shilan of Teaneck
  • Officer Jonathan Bregman of West Milford
  • Alma Mader of Wyckoff

Video of the ceremony can be found HERE.

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Comments are closed.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape