Rupande Mehta Announces State Senate Campaign in LD-25


Nine Democratic Municipal Chairs in Legislative District 25 have announced their support for
Rupande Mehta to take on newly sworn in Anthony Bucco, Jr. in the special election for the Senate seat in 2020.

Bucco was sworn in last month to fill the seat left vacant by his father, the longtime Republican incumbent in LD-25.

“Rupande’s dedication to community and her ability to analyze complex systems such as the school funding formula, make her the ideal person to represent the 25th Legislative District in the New Jersey State Senate. Rupande is committed to making New Jersey more affordable,” said Andrea Zeydelis, Municipal Chair of the Denville Democratic Committee.

LD-25 has steadily become more Democratic in the last decade. In 2018, both Tom Malinowski and Mikie Sherill had Congressional victories. All of these trends indicate that the Democrats have a very strong opportunity to unseat the Republicans in the 2020 special election.

“My professional focus is on finding solutions to difficult problems. I will use all my talents and abilities to solve New Jersey’s most pressing issues. I am a team builder and will reach out to some of the brightest and best in the District to help create solutions,” said Mehta.

Mehta is a 2019 Emerge graduate, a founding board member of Inspiring South Asian American Women
(ISAAW), and the Morris County Director of the South Asian American Caucus (SAAC). She also founded the SAR Foundation, which works to train local and state organizations on issues of domestic violence. Mehta currently serves on the Municipal Alliance and Green Sustainability Committees in Denville.

Buoyed by the ability to connect with constituents, Mehta is now running for State Senate to stand up for New Jersey families from all walks of life. She currently lives in Denville with her husband and daughter.

Here is the full list of LD-25 Municipal Chairs announcing support for Rupande Mehta:

● Andrea Zeydelis, Denville Township
● Meghan Lynch, Randolph Township
● Edward Correa, Dover
● Julia Gillies, Rockaway Borough
● Stacy Strum, Chester Borough
● Michael Craver, Mendham Borough
● Jennifer Smith,Mountain Lakes Borough
● Diane Dinklage, Mendham Township
● Joseph Ramondini, Washington Township

(Visited 60 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape