DeGroot Gets the Passaic GOP Line in CD-11


Chairman Peter Murphy, Vice Chairwoman Joanie Walsh, and the Passaic County Regular Republican Organization are proud to announce their 2022 endorsed candidates as selected at the Executive Committee meeting earlier this evening at The Brownstone in Paterson.

Former Paterson Police Chief Troy Oswald heads the county Republican ticket as its candidate for the office of Passaic County Sheriff. Oswald had a decorated career serving the Paterson Police Department, rising through the ranks before being appointed as Chief by former Mayor Jane Williams in 2018. Oswald, who retired in 2020 and resides in Clifton, is among the most respected police leaders in Northern New Jersey, managing over 700 employees and a $45 million budget during his tenure leading the department.

Joining Oswald on the county ticket are Paterson PBA President Alex Cruz and former Ringwood Deputy Mayor Bill Marsala as the candidates for Passaic County Commissioner.

Cruz, who resides in Little Falls, has been elected to five consecutive terms as PBA President and has extensive management experience in the private sector prior to joining the police force.

Marsala served sixteen years as a Councilman in the Borough of Ringwood and is a veteran attorney with numerous areas of legal expertise. He was a 2021 candidate for County Commissioner, falling just 648 votes short of earning a seat on the Board after a hard fought campaign.

“Coming off the heels of electing Nicolino Gallo as Passaic County’s first Republican County Commissioner in over a decade, I am proud to put this ticket forward for Sheriff and Commissioner,” said PCRRO Chairman Peter Murphy. “Troy Oswald is among the best candidates we could put forth and he will make an exceptional Sheriff. Alex Cruz and Bill Marsala are both tough, law-and-order professionals who will make excellent Commissioners. Our campaign efforts will get them over the top this year and restore some balance to Passaic County government.”

Congressional candidates receiving the PCRRO’s endorsement — and placement on the coveted ballot “line” — are Frank Pallotta in District 5, Billy Prempeh in District 9, and Paul DeGroot (pictured) in District 11.

(Visited 91 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape