InsiderNJ’s Muslim Power and Influence List in Honor of Ramadan

The picture above for the Muslims Power List was taken on Tuesday, April 16, 2019, when Dean Obeidallah from his Sirius XM show hosted a Town Hall from ICPC Masjid for the first time ever in the nation. Seated in the first two rows – State Democratic Chairman John Currie, then Department of Health Commissioner Shereef M Elnahal, Mayor Khairullah of Prospect Park, then NJMLA President Ehsan F Chowdhry, ESQ, Freeholder Akhter, Councilman AbdelAziz, then CAIR-NJ Executive Director James R Sues, Imam Qatanani of ICPC and President MAC Sam Khan.



Our inaugural list is subjective, and subject to revision in time for next year’s reckoning on the same theme.

In the meantime, and with a special thank you to Ehsan F. Chowdhry for his help, we say “Ramadan Kareem” and offer you, in alphabetical order, this year’s list…

1. Abdul-Basit Haqq, Vice President, CWA Local 1037


  1. Adeel A. Mangi, ESQ. Partner, Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler, LLP


  1. Agha A. Khan, former Congressional Candidate, 8TH District


  1. Al Abdelaziz, Ward 6 Councilman, City of Paterson (Passaic County)


  1. Alp Basaran, ESQ., Current Congressional Candidate, 9TH District


  1. Assad R. Akhter, Passaic County Board of Chosen Freeholder (Passaic County)


  1. Azra Baig, former Member, South Brunswick Township Board of Education; Employee of New Jersey Department of Health


  1. Charles Williams, former Chief of Staff to Lieutenant Governor Sheila Y. Oliver


  1. Chief Ahmed S. Naga, Chief of Police, Long Hill Township (Morris County)


  1. Chief Ibrahim Baycora, Chief of Police, City of Paterson (Passaic County)


  1. Chief Mustafa L. Rabboh, Chief of Police, Bergenfield Township (Bergen County)


  1. Dean I. Obeidallah, ESQ., Sirius XM Progress’ The Dean Obeidallah Show


  1. Mohammad A. Chaudry, former Mayor, Township of Bernards (Somerset County)


  1. Muhammad A. Zubair, member of Governor Murphy’s Healthcare Transition Team


  1. Rizwana Khan, immediate past President, New Jersey Chapter of Physicians of Pakistani Descent of North America


  1. Shereef M. Elnahal, former Commissioner of New Jersey Department of Health; Co-Chair Governor Murphy’s Healthcare Transition Team


  1. Ehsan F. Chowdhry, ESQ., immediate Past President – New Jersey Muslim Lawyers Association (NJMLA); Co-Chair of Governor Murphy’s Law & Justice Transition Team


  1. Farook Hussain, Vice President, Atlantic City Board of Education


  1. Ghani M. Khan, CEO, American Muslims for Hunger Relief (AMFHR)


  1. Hassan Abu Bakr, FBI Citizens Academy, Newark – Board of Trustees, Minority Affairs Director


  1. Huma Hasan, former Executive Director, Wafa House; Co-Chair Governor Murphy’s Human & Children Services Transition Team


  1. Imam Hamad A. Chebli, Imam of Islamic Society of Central Jersey (ISCJ)


  1. Imam Muhammad A. Mendes, Imam of Muslim Center of Greater Princeton (MCGP)


  1. Imam Wahy-ud Deen Shareef, member of Governor Murphy’s Transportation & Infrastructure Transition Team


  1. Intashan Chowdhury, Business Administrator, Borough of Prospect Park


  1. James R. Sues, former Executive Director for the Council on American Islamic Relations (CAIR-NJ)


  1. Jessica Berrocal, Co-Chair, New Jersey State Democratic Committee, Muslim Caucus


  1. Jimmy Small, former Councilman, City of East Orange (Essex County)


  1. Joseph M. Champagne, Jr., ESQ.,  former Mayor, Borough of South Toms River (Ocean County)


he Congressman and the Imam.

  1. Mohammad Ahmad Hasan Qatanani, Imam, Islamic Center of Passaic County


  1. Mohamed T. Khairullah, Mayor of Borough of Prospect Park (Passaic County)


  1. Mohammed Hameeduddin, Mayor of Township of Teaneck (Bergen County)


  1. Muhammad “Anjum” Zia, Councilman, City of Atlantic City (Atlantic County) 


  1. Muqaddas Ejaz, member, Cherry Hill Democratic Committee


  1. Mussab Ali, Member, Jersey City Board of Education (Hudson County)


  1. Mustafa Abdi, Director, Muslims for Peace


  1. Nadia Kahf, ESQ., Chair, Wayne Democratic Committee


  1. Nadia S. Bandukda, ESQ., Alumni of New Jersey New Leader Council’s First Class; Member of Governor Murphy’s Transition Counsel


  1. Omar Boraie, Boraie Development, LLC


  1. Rizwan Malik, former Councilman, City of Atlantic City (Atlantic County)


  1. Nadia Hussain, Board of Directors, American Civil Liberties Union of New Jersey (ACLU NJ)


Sadaf Jaffer

  1. Sadaf Jaffer, Mayor of Township of Montgomery (Somerset County)


  1. Sahar F. Aziz, ESQ. Professor & Director, Rutgers Law School Center for Security, Race & Rights


  1. Salahuddin N. Mustafa, Member, New Jersey State Democratic Committee; Member of Governor Murphy’s Budget Transition Team  


  1. Salim Patel, Councilman, City of Passaic (Passaic County)


  1. Shahin Khalique, Councilman, City of Paterson (Passaic County)
  2. Shariq Ahmad, Edison Township Democratic Committee Chairman


  1. Sikandar Khan, Co-Chair, New Jersey State Democratic Committee, Muslim Caucus


  1. Tahsina Ahmed, Councilwoman, Borough of Haledon (Passaic County)


  1. Ted R. Green, Mayor of City of East Orange (Essex County)Yousef Saleh
  2. Yousef Saleh, Councilman, Jersey City


    1. Abdur Rahman Muhammad, Newark-based historian and Malcolm X scholar 
    2.  Abed A. Awad, ESQ., Sharia Wiz
    3. Abid Islam, Islamic Center of Jersey City
    4. Adil S. Ahmed, ESQ., Make the Road
    5. Afsheen Shamsi, Rutgers University, South Asian Caucus, NJ Democratic State Committee
    6. Al Barlas, Essex County GOP Chairman
    7. Alan D. Bowman, ESQ., Civil Rights Activist
    8. Asma J. Warsi, ESQ., Governor Murphy’s Law & Justice Team, Member
    9. Atif Nazir, Central Jersey Progressive Democrats
    10. Atiya Aftab, ESQ.,  Center for Islamic Life at Rutgers University (CILRU) 
    11. Red Bank Councilman Hazim M. Yassin
    12. Councilman MD Hossain Morshed
    13. Former Councilman Mohammed Akhtaruzzaman
    14. Asghar Kharazi, Sadiq School, Somerset, member of the Muslim-Jewish Advisory Council
    15. Mahmood Alam, MD, founding President of the American Muslims for Democracy
    16. Sophia Chadda,  former candidate for Bernards Twp. Committee
    17. Faria Abedin, Muslim Advocates
    18. Freeholder Tayfun Selen, Morris County
    19. Freshta Taeb, veteran activist with ties to Wafa House
    20. Ibrahim Small, City of East Orange
    21. Imam Sohaib N. Sultan, chaplain at Princeton University 
    22. Rajeh A. Saadeh, ESQ., Past President, New Jersey Muslim Lawyers Association (NJMLA)
    23. Salma T. Chand, ESQ., Department of Education
    24. Sam Khan, President, American Muslim Council
    25. Wasseem Boraie, ARJ Civic Leadership

              26. Ahmed Shehata, Linden Board of Education

We offer a special thank you to our friend, former Ward 2 Councilman Aslon Goow of Paterson.
We also offer a special thank you and Ramadan Greeting to our friend, former Ward 2 Councilman Aslon Goow of Paterson.
(Visited 460 times, 2 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape