Morris Township Democratic Committee Selects Township Committee Candidates

Morris Township Democratic Committee Selects Township Committee Candidates

Last night, the Morris Township Democratic Committee selected three candidates to fill a vacant position on the Morris Township Committee during a nominating convention held virtually.

The vacancy was created July 22nd with the resignation of Tara Olivo-Moore, a Democrat who was elected in 2021. Under New Jersey law, the municipal party committee of the party of the resigning member chooses three candidates, and the Township Committee selects one of the three to fill the vacancy.

“I’m delighted that the committee has chosen three people who are devoted to service and who represent the best of our community,” said George Quillan, Morris Township Democratic Committee chair. “We were sorry to see Tara go, but it’s wonderful that we have so many qualified individuals available to fill in, all of whom are thoughtful, practical people with strong work habits and the desire to keep Morris Township responsive to its citizens. Morris Township will be well served whoever the Township Committee picks.”

The three candidates are (in alphabetical order):

Jennifer Carcich. Ms. Carcich is the Supervisor of Curriculum at the Unity Charter School in Morris Township and an adjunct professor at Kean University. She is a member of the Township’s Environmental Commission, the Hillside Hose Ladies Auxiliary, and Assumption Parish, and is Vice President of the Burnham Park Association.

Donna Guariglia. Ms. Guariglia is well known in the community for her work with the New Jersey Colonials hockey club, with USA Hockey, where she is Treasurer of the national organization and Vice President of the USA Hockey Foundation, and as Co-President of the League of Women Voters of the Morristown Area. (If chosen for Township Committee, she intends to resign from her board position at the League of Women Voters, which is a nonpartisan organization.)

Siva Jonnada. Mr. Jonnada graduated from Morristown High School and is a longtime resident of the Township. He is the Chair of the Whippany River Watershed Action Committee, a member of Morris Township’s Environmental Commission, a member of the Burnham Park Association, and a board member of NJ11th for Change.



As part of this November’s general election there will be a special election for the remainder of Ms. Olivo- Moore’s term, which ends in December 2024. The Morris Township Democratic Committee expects its candidate will be the person who was selected by the Township Committee in August. The winner of the special election will be sworn in once the election results are certified by the County Clerk.

(Visited 69 times, 1 visits today)

Comments are closed.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape