32BJ SEIU Backs Baraka’s Reelection in Newark

32BJ SEIU – a 12,000-member labor outfit – today endorsed incumbent Newark Mayor Ras Baraka and slate of council candidates for the May 8 non-partisan elections.

“Mayor Baraka has been committed to taking bold action to help airport workers and other low-wage workers get the family-sustaining wages and benefits they deserve,” said Kevin Brown, 32BJ SEIU Vice President and NJ State Director. There are currently thousands of airport workers in New Jersey who earn just $10.20 an hour that Baraka has marched with and advocated for. Mayor Baraka was also a strong supporter of New Jersey’s janitors as they negotiated a new contract in commercial buildings in 2015. With Baraka’s support they were able to win a $15-an-hour minimum wage for thousands of 32BJ members statewide, and more than $17 an hour for those living in Newark. Baraka similarly supported New Jersey’s security officers who were able to bargain a $14 an hour minimum wage with his support.” 

Brown said his group intends to mobilize hundreds of members to walk and get out the vote to support the mayor.

“Just as we have done in other elections, we will also utilize massive social media outreach and multiple other methods to get out the message that working people need to stand with a friend and brother,” Brown added.  

Baraka said he is honored to receive the endorsement of 32BJ again.   

“During the past four years, my team and I have taken pride in building a broad-based movement of people and organizations empowered to transform our city. I look forward to our continued work with 32BJ as part of the ongoing movement to create a more fair and just city,” said the mayor.

32BJ is also supporting the Mayor’s slate of Newark City Council candidates.

For the Newark City Council elections, 32BJ SEIU is also endorsing:

Mildred Crump
, Council President
Augusto Amado, Vice President, East Ward Council Member

Luis A. Quintana, Council Member-At-Large

Carlos M. Gonzalez, Council Member-At-Large

Eddie Osborne, Council Member-At-Large
Anibal Ramos, Jr., North Ward Council Member

John Sharpe James, South Ward Council Member
Joseph A. McCallum, Jr., West Ward Council Member
LaMonica McIver, Council, Central Ward
Carlos M. Gonzalez, Council Member-At-Large

(Visited 17 times, 2 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape