Now Law: Kean Bill Creates Driverless Car Task Force 

Now Law: Kean Bill Creates Driverless Car Task Force

Legislation Will Invigorate NJ’s Innovation Economy

Legislation sponsored by Senate Republican Leader Tom Kean to establish an autonomous vehicle task force has been signed into law by Governor Phil Murphy.

“Driverless cars will be part of America’s transportation system future,” Kean (R-21) said. “Autonomous vehicle innovations are sparking a new career field with endless possibilities for our workforce. Establishing a multifaceted task force to study and recommend the best policies for driverless cars will lead to new jobs and high consumer safety standards, so that we can prevent injuries and save lives.”

Kean’s bipartisan resolution, SJR-105, creates the “New Jersey Advanced Autonomous Vehicle Task Force.”

Under SJR-105, which was signed into law on March 18, 2019, an eleven member task force will assess advanced autonomous vehicles and make recommendations on laws, rules, and regulations that New Jersey may enact or adopt to safely integrate advanced autonomous vehicles on the State’s highways, streets, and roads.

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, 29 states have ratified bills associated with autonomous vehicles.

“If we are going to be on the cutting edge of a new sector of the transportation industry, then we need to take action to ensure New Jersey’s policymakers have a better understanding of the evolution and trajectory of autonomous vehicle technology,” Kean said. “This task force is a great step forward in our ongoing effort to make New Jersey the most innovative state in the country.”

(Visited 225 times, 1 visits today)

Comments are closed.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape