Senate And Assembly To Act on Resolutions Authorizing Joint Committee on Oversight; Reserve Right To Issue Subpoenas

Democratic leadership from the NJ Assembly give a press conference after the chamber votes to approve the NJ 2020 budget.

Both houses of the Legislature on Monday will vote on concurrent resolutions authorizing the creation of the “New Jersey Legislative Select Oversight Commitee” to examine public sector hiring practices and to review the procedures by government in response to allegations of sexual assault, abuse and harassment, Senate President Steve Sweeney and Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin said today.

They released the following statement: “The Select Oversight Committee will conduct hearings that are public, fair, transparent and bipartisan. The Committee chairs will determine as quickly as possible when the hearings will begin and provide a schedule regarding dates for the proceedings.  Due to the sensitive nature of the issues, we anticipate everyone called to testify will willingly comply. While we hope there will be no need to invoke the power, we thought it best to reserve the right to issue subpoenas in the unlikely event it is necessary for the committee to take that course of action.” 

The identical resolutions, SCR-148, sponsored by Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg and Senator Kristin Corrado, and ACR-203, sponsored by Assemblywoman Eliana Pintor Marin and Assemblywoman Nancy Munoz, creating the 15-member, bipartisan committee, will be voted on by the Senate and Assembly, respectively.  The full committee roster includes:

  • Senator Loretta Weinberg: Co-Chair
  • Assemblywoman Eliana Pintor Marin: Co-Chair 
  • Senator Kristin Corrado: Co-Vice Chair
  • Assemblywoman Nancy Munoz: Co-Vice Chair 
  • Senator Sandra Cunningham
  • Senator M. Teresa Ruiz
  • Senator Fred Madden
  • Senator Steve Oroho
  • Assemblywoman Angela McKnight
  • Assemblywoman Pamela Lampitt
  • Assemblywoman Verlina Reynolds Jackson
  • Assemblyman Gordon Johnson
  • Assemblywoman Nancy Pinkin
  • Assemblywoman BettyLou DeCroce
  • Assemblywoman Holly Schepisi

The resolutions include the authorization for subpoena power in terms of non-compliance, but each subpoena would have to be approved by both of the committee’s co-chairs, both co-vicechairs, the Senate President and the Assembly Speaker.

As previously announced, the committee co-counsels will be Michael Critchley (already seen at the Statehouse) and Joseph A. Hayden.

Select Oversight Committee
(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape