Speaker Coughlin Names Assembly Leadership Team for the 219th Legislative Session

Governor Phil Murphy is trying to get Speaker Craig Coughlin to accept a compromise on the dark money disclosure bill set for consideration by the Assembly. The compromise includes the elected official provision, but supposedly changes language to protect First Amendment issues that led to the conditional veto of the original version.

Speaker Also Announces Two New Leadership Positions


(TRENTON) – Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin and Majority Leader Louis Greenwald today officially announced the Assembly Leadership Team for the 219th session of the legislature.

Leading the 52-28 Assembly Democratic majority, the following Assembly members make up the Leadership team: Assemblywoman Annette Quijano has been named as Conference Leader. Assemblyman Gordon Johnson has been appointed to his second term as Speaker Pro Tempore. Assemblywoman Eliana Pintor Marin has been re-named as chair of the Assembly Budget Committee. Assemblyman John Burzichelli has been re-appointed as Assembly Appropriations Committee chairman.

“I have had the privilege of working closely with each of the members of the Assembly Majority Leadership Team,” said Coughlin (D-Middlesex). “I am proud of the work we have done together and I’m confident we can do so much more. We share the unified goal of making New Jersey a more affordable and better place to live for each of its 9 million residents.”

“I look forward to working with the Speaker, legislative leaders and all of my colleagues as we forge a path to a better New Jersey,” said Greenwald (D-Camden, Burlington). “I am confident we can tackle the major issues impacting the people who call the Garden State their home. I believe our work begins with addressing New Jersey’s most pressing issues.”

Most recently chair of the Assembly Judiciary Committee, Quijano now takes the reins as Conference Leader.

“I am grateful to have been chosen as the Democratic Conference Leader,” said Quijano (D-Union). “I take my responsibility in this role very seriously and will do everything I can to ensure fair and civil discussion among our members.”

Currently chair of the Assembly Commerce and Economic Development Committee, Johnson begins his second term as Speaker Pro Tempore.

“I am proud to rejoin the Assembly Leadership team,” said Johnson (D-Bergen). “We made great progress last session as we continued to place New Jersey citizens at the forefront of the work we do in Trenton. It is an honor to serve alongside my fellow legislators this term; and I look forward to working with Speaker Coughlin and Leadership over the next few years.”

Pintor Marin begins her third year as chair of the Assembly Budget Committee.

“Thank you to Speaker Coughlin for entrusting me with the position of Budget Chair for a second term,” said Pintor Marin (D-Essex). “I look forward to working with leadership and my fellow Assembly colleagues to once again put forth a responsible budget for New Jersey.”

Burzichelli has once again been re-named Chair of the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

“My deepest appreciation to Speaker Craig Coughlin for my reappointment to the leadership team,” said Burzichelli (D-Gloucester, Cumberland, Salem). “I am humbled to serve in this leadership position and look forward to another productive legislative session.”

Speaker Coughlin also announced two new leadership positions. Assemblyman Nicholas Chiaravalloti will serve as Majority Whip. In this newly created role, Chiaravalloti will be responsible for ensuring the Assembly Democratic Caucus will support the important goal of advancing New Jersey.

Assemblyman Gary Schaer has been tapped as Policy Chair. In this new position, Schaer will be tasked with working with fellow Caucus members on the most complex issues to ensure a consistent agenda.

“I have decided to increase the Leadership Team from six to eight in order to incorporate more members to help in creating a more member-centric decision-making process,” said Coughlin. “I envision the new Majority Whip and Policy Chair providing an open line of communication amongst themselves, legislators, staff and leadership which will assist all of us in crafting thoughtful and responsible legislation that makes New Jersey a more competitive place in which to live and raise a family.”

Chiaravalloti is currently vice-chair of the Assembly Human Services Committee and serves on the Commerce and Judiciary Committees.

“I thank Speaker Coughlin for entrusting me with this new responsibility and opportunity,” said Chiaravalloti. “I am confident that working together with my colleagues, we will improve the operation in the Assembly and continue making a positive impact on the people of New Jersey.”

Vice-chair of the Assembly Appropriations Committee, Schaer is also a member of the Financial Institutions and Homeland Security Committees.

“I am honored to join Speaker Coughlin and Majority Leader Greenwald in Assembly leadership as the Policy Chair for the 219th Legislative Session. I look forward to working with all of my colleagues to pass innovative legislative solutions to the problems being faced by New Jersey residents.”

Speaker Coughlin also announced the following appointments:


Assemblywoman Joann Downey (D-Monmouth)


Deputy Speakers

Assemblyman John Burzichelli (D-Gloucester, Cumberland, Salem)

Assemblyman Wayne DeAngelo (D-Mercer, Middlesex)

Assemblywoman Mila Jasey (D-Essex, Morris)

Assemblywoman Angelica Jimenez (D-Hudson, Bergen)

Assemblywoman Pam Lampitt (D-Camden, Burlington)

Assemblyman Paul Moriarty (D-Camden, Gloucester)

Assemblyman Gary Schaer (D-Passaic, Bergen)

Assemblywoman Valerie Vainieri Huttle (D-Bergen)

Assemblyman Benjie Wimberly (D-Passaic, Bergen)


Deputy Majority Leaders

Assemblyman Tom Giblin (D-Essex, Passaic)

Assemblyman Joseph Egan (D-Middlesex, Somerset)

Assemblyman Eric Houghtaling (D-Monmouth)

Assemblywoman Carol Murphy (D-Burlington)

Assemblywoman Verlina Reynolds-Jackson (D-Mercer, Hunterdon)

Assemblyman Chris Tully (D-Bergen, Passaic)


Deputy Speaker Pro Tempore

Assemblywoman Nancy Pinkin (D-Middlesex)

Assemblyman Raj Mukherji (D-Hudson)


Deputy Conference Leader

Assemblyman Dan Benson (D-Mercer, Middlesex)


Deputy Parliamentarian

Assemblyman Adam Taliaferro (D-Gloucester, Cumberland, Salem)


Deputy Whips

Assemblywoman Linda Carter (D-Union, Middlesex, Somerset)

Assemblyman William Spearman (D-Camden, Gloucester)

Assemblyman Joe Danielsen (D-Somerset, Middlesex)

(Visited 34 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape