Sweeney Trumpets Victory for another Senate Prez Term


The Senate Democrats today released a list of those caucus members who back Senate President Steve Sweeney (D-3) for another two-year term on the throne.

It all but ends talk of a Sweeney short-circuiting.

Only Democratic senators Dick Codey, Ron Rice, Nia Gill, Nick Sacco, and Shirley Turner withheld their support of Sweeney.

Even their adhesion to the GOP caucus would prove problematic, as it is likely Sweeney could peel some – or two, or one – Republicans away from Senate Minority Leader Tom Kean, Jr. (R-21).

The Democratic incumbents who have pledged their continued support for Sweeney as Senate President are: Senator James Beach, Senator Nilsa Cruz-Perez, Senator Sandra Cunningham, Senator Patrick Diegnan, Senator Bob Gordon, Senator Linda Greenstein, Senator Fred Madden, Senator Nellie Pou, Senator M. Teresa Ruiz, Senator Paul Sarlo, Senator Nicholas Scutari, Senator Bob Smith, Senator Brian Stack, Senator Jeff Van Drew and Senator Joe Vitale. Also pledging their support are four Democratic candidates for Senate: Colin Bell, Joe Cryan, Vin Gopal and Troy Singleton.

“With Steve’s leadership, Democrats have expanded our influence in the Legislature and I am fully confident that we will continue our majority control,” said Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg (D-37). “We will work with our incumbents and candidates to advance  Democratic priorities such as school funding reform, pay equity and women’s access to quality healthcare.  These are the bedrock issues that define us as New Jersey Democrats. Our residents are counting on us to fight for them and under the Senate President’s unified leadership, we will.”

(Visited 15 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape