Scutari Congratulated by NJCBA


This afternoon, Senate Democrats affirmed Senator Nick Scutari as the successor to Steve Sweeney in the position of senate president.

New Jersey CannaBusiness Association (NJCBA) President Edmund DeVeaux issued the following statement today regarding longtime cannabis legalization advocate and prime sponsor and author of New Jersey’s landmark legalization legislation, Senator Nick Scutari, becoming the next Senate President:

“On behalf of the NJCBA leadership and membership, I want to offer my heartfelt congratulations to Senator Scutari. He has been a true leader in the cause for social justice and economic parity as it relates to the state’s cannabis community. We feel his ascension to the office of Senate President is recognition for his years of hard work, not just for the cannabis industry, but to the state of New Jersey. As with his predecessor, our friend Senate President Sweeney, we stand ready to offer our policy advice and counsel as we move forward with an adult-use and expanded medical cannabis market.”


About The New Jersey CannaBusiness Association

The NJCBA’s mission is to promote jobs and growth in a sustainable and responsible cannabis industry. Starting with the pioneers in the medical cannabis market to the emerging players in the adult-use space, the NJCBA’s focus is to make certain that decision makers and regulators understand and respect the needs of the CannaBusiness community and that our community remain responsible corporate citizens.

From the Senate Majority Office:

 Senator Nicholas Scutari has been selected by the members of the Senate Democratic Majority to serve as President of the New Jersey Senate for the legislative session that begins in January. The caucus members also chose Senator M. Teresa Ruiz to be Senate Majority Leader, and Senator Sandra Cunningham was named Senate President Pro Tempore.
“I am honored to win the support of my colleagues in the Senate Democratic Majority to serve as Senate President,” said Senator Scutari (D-Union/Middlesex/Somerset). “I look forward to working with the diverse and talented group of senators in the Democratic caucus and with other top state leaders to implement policies needed to address the needs of all the people of New Jersey. Every voice will be heard as we work to serve the priorities of each community and every resident.”
First elected to the Senate in 2004, Senator Scutari has served as Majority Whip since 2020 and as Deputy Majority Leader in the 2018-2019 legislative session. He has chaired the powerful Senate Judiciary Committee for 12 years, and also served as a member of the Senate Commerce Committee.
“I want to thank my colleagues for electing me to serve as the Senate Majority Leader for the upcoming legislative session. I am honored to be the first Latina to hold this position,” said Senator Ruiz (D-Essex). “Together with Senator Scutari, Senator Cunningham and the entire Democratic Caucus we can work to create policy and improve government that works for everyone who calls New Jersey home.”
Senator Ruiz, who will be the highest-ranking Latina in the history of the New Jersey Legislature, was first elected to the Senate in 2008, and has served as Senate President Pro Tempore since 2018 and as Assistant Majority Leader from 2010 to 2017. She has served as chair of the Senate Education Committee since 2010 and as a member of the Senate Budget Committee.
“The challenges faced by people throughout New Jersey offer opportunities for the Senate to be responsive to their needs,” said Senator Cunningham (D-Hudson). “We will continue to address criminal justice reform and work to make real and lasting progress for every community in the state. We fully understand that our diversity is our strength.”
Joining the Senate in 2007, Senator Cunningham has served as Deputy Majority Leader since 2018 and as Majority Whip from 2008 through 2017. She is the Chair of the Senate Higher Education Committee and Vice Chair of the Senate Budget Committee.
The full Senate will officially vote for Senate President, Majority Leader and Senate President Pro Tempore on January 11, 2022, when the Legislature convenes the new 2022-23 legislative session.

(Visited 1,105 times, 1 visits today)

News From Around the Web

The Political Landscape